Harvey Milk Bust Set To Be Unveiled Tonight at SF City Hall

Towleroad: The unveiling of a bust memorializing slain civil rights activist and city commissioner Harvey Milk is set for tonight at San Francisco’s City Hall.

  1. mongoliangirl

    In ’89 I was 21 and, by chance, caught the ’84 documentary about Harvey Milk. It was amazing to see such a documentary being shown on a southern Missouri television station. Though I cannot say I’ve ever been anti-gay, I had been raised around serious anti-gay sentiment and had lots of questions about gay rights at the time. Thank goodness that southern Missouri station took the risk of showing that documentary and, therefore, took a risk on me. I admit I cried my eyes out and realized I had been asking the wrong question all along. The question, I discovered, is NOT, “Should (whatever group) have equal rights?” The question IS, “Since we all have equal rights, how can I be part of making that fact a reality?” It is true that a 90 minute documentary can change a life. I cannot wait to see the movie! Thanks!




Leave a Reply

